For the latest amateur classical music listings in and around Portsmouth, including Fareham, Petersfield, Chichester, Havant and Hayling Island

Havant Symphony Orchestra: “Great classics for all”

Sat 2 Apr 2022 7:30pm

Oaklands Catholic School, Waterlooville

Booking Details: See link below

For further details see the Havant Symphony Orchestra website.

Havant Symphony Orchestra

Arrive early to enjoy …6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk in the main hall 

The Land of the Mountain and the Flood – MacCunn

Capriol Suite – Warlock

Piano Concerto No. 3 – Prokofiev
Soloist: Christos Fountos

Symphony No. 2 in D – Brahms

A pick and mix classical variety-fest awaits you at this concert by Havant Symphony Orchestra! Major serious composers? tick; Live virtuoso pianist? tick; Great hummable tunes? tick! To quote a first-time audience member at one of our previous concerts “This is proper!”

The major composers are Prokofiev and Brahms, but we also introduce you to Peter Warlock with his Capriol Suite, based on renaissance dances, and to Hamish MacCunn whose Land of the Mountain and the Flood is a delightful evocation of his native Scotland.

The virtuoso pianist is Christos Fountos – born in Cyprus but a student of the Trinity Laban Conservatoire in London. His performance of Concerto No. 3 by Prokofiev will be spectacular!

Hummable tunes? These will feature throughout but especially in the MacCunn and Warlock, and Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 will leave you with a warm glow to take home at the end.


Privacy notice | Site design copyright ©2022 Music In Portsmouth. Logos and images of participating performers may subject to additional copyright restrictions. Please be courteous and ask before using.