For the latest amateur classical music listings in and around Portsmouth, including Fareham, Petersfield, Chichester, Havant and Hayling Island

Havant Symphony Orchestra: Stories from around the world – CANCELLED

Sat 11 Jul 2020 7:30pm

Oaklands Catholic School, Waterlooville

Booking Details: TBA

For further details see the Havant Symphony Orchestra website.

Havant Symphony Orchestra

L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1 – Bizet

Cello Concerto in A minor – Saint-Saëns
Soloist: Student from Yehudi Menuhin School

Vltava* – Smetana

The Firebird ballet suite – Stravinsky

Conductors: Jonathan Butcher and Avi Taler*

Arrive early to enjoy …
6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk in the main hall

Hattie Mcgregor (pictured), a young future star performer, will join us for the dramatic cello concerto by French composer Camille Saint-Saëns. HSO complete the season with Stravinsky’s spectacular “Firebird”.

Stories from around the world feature in this last concert of the season by HSO. Bizet’s “L’Arlésienne” Suite No. 1 was written for a play “The Girl from Arles” (the famous French town where Van Gogh lived). Smetana beautifully portrays the scenery in his beloved Czech Republic in “Vltava” – the most popular section of his large work “Ma Vlast” (My Homeland).

Completing the programme will be Stravinsky’s incredible Suite “The Firebird”. A challenge for any orchestra, this will be a superb finale to our season.


Privacy notice | Site design copyright ©2021 Music In Portsmouth. Logos and images of participating performers may subject to additional copyright restrictions. Please be courteous and ask before using.