For the latest amateur classical music listings in and around Portsmouth, including Fareham, Petersfield, Chichester, Havant and Hayling Island

Havant Symphony Orchestra Concert

Sat 2 Dec 2017 7:30pm

Oaklands Catholic School, Waterlooville

Booking Details: Tickets £18.00; £16.00; £12.00; £6.00 Students half price / Under 19s £1.00. For information and on-line tickets visit or search for “Havant Orchestras”. For tickets by phone via Online ticketing: Phone: 03336 663366 (booking fee £1.50). For ticket enquiries (and tickets by post): Email: Phone: 01489 877497 Text: 07855 972057

For further details see the Havant Symphony Orchestra website.

Havant Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Jonathan Butcher
Soloist: Nicholas McCarthy

Overture Cockaigne – Elgar
Rhapsody A Shropshire Lad – Butterworth
Piano Concerto for the left hand – Ravel
Symphony in D minor – Franck

Being born without a right hand was no barrier to Nicholas McCarthy’s ambition!

We are very excited to be working with Nicholas McCarthy, a pianist who, despite being born without his right hand, has achieved his dream of becoming a concert pianist!  The composer Ravel was asked to write a concerto for the left hand by pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who had lost his right arm in World War 1, and this is clearly a dream piece for Nicholas!

We open the concert with two English works – the Overture ‘Cockaigne’ by Elgar and the Rhapsody ‘A Shropshire Lad’ by Butterworth.  Butterworth lost his life in action in 1916 and his most famous surviving work is ‘A Shropshire Lad’, based on the poems of A E Housman.  ‘Cockaigne’ gives us Elgar’s portrait of Edwardian London, before the turmoil of the First World War.

To conclude the concert we go back just a little further to the 1890s and the most famous piece by the Belgian composer Cesar Franck.  This Symphony was not well-received by critics when first performed due to its mix of French and German traditions, but its haunting melody for cor anglais and satisfying joyful conclusion make it, nowadays, a hugely enjoyable piece to listen to!

Privacy notice | Site design copyright ©2021 Music In Portsmouth. Logos and images of participating performers may subject to additional copyright restrictions. Please be courteous and ask before using.