Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra: Midsummer Melody – Vaughan Williams, Mendelssohn and Dvořák

Read a preview.

Vaughan Williams – Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Mendelssohn – Violin Concerto
Dvořák – Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World’

Tom Fetherstonhaugh, conductor

Enjoy a summer’s evening of some of the most memorable melodies ever written, performed in full majesty by the BSO in the glorious surroundings of Chichester Cathedral.

Vaughan Williams’ Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis is notable for the full, shimmering tone of its many-voiced string ensemble, its flowing, interwoven themes, and the diaphanous modal harmony by which Vaughan Williams mutates the sound of the work’s 16th-century counterpart.

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto makes a journey from darkness to light. It begins restless and questing, sometimes mysterious and sometimes nostalgic but ends with a blaze of colour, and a mood of joy and exhilaration, sustained by witty virtuosic melodies and lively interplay between soloist and orchestra.

Remaining incredibly fresh and abounding with memorable melodies, the Ninth Symphony describes Dvořák’s own spiritual and emotional journey from his intense longing for his beloved Bohemia to the thrill of the ‘New World’ and its varied peoples. Written in 1893 during Dvořák’s years as a visiting teacher in New York City, it is really a musical postcard to his Old World friends in central Europe, proclaiming America as a land of promise, excitement, and heart-rending beauty.

Tickets are £31/£26/£15. Concessions: 50% discount for u18s, customers on UC, PIP, JSA, IS, ESA, wheelchair users and Personal Assistants.

View the BSO event page.

Part of the Festival of Chichester.

Event Details