Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra: Shostakovich’s Mighty Concerto

Scriabin – Rêverie
Shostakovich – Violin Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky – Symphony No.4

Alexander Shelley – conductor (pictured)
Nikita Boriso-Glebsky – violin

Scriabin’s Rêverie is packed full of beautifully crafted orchestral colour and texture. Luscious harmonies interweave to create a swirling dreamscape that ebbs and flows mysteriously.

More akin to a symphony, Shostakovich’s daring First Violin Concerto is a real tour de force. Calling on everything in the violinist’s technical arsenal as well as vast physical and emotional stamina, its wide emotional range encompasses brooding, elegiac melancholy with savage, mocking sarcasm.

Tchaikovsky’s turbulent, but finally triumphant, Fourth Symphony is considered a landmark of Russian music, a truly thrilling work brimming with energy and tension which forces the orchestra to bend to its language.

Tickets from £8.

The BSO is highly regarded for its ambitious programming and recordings. It is one of the UK's top symphony orchestras, giving over 160 public performances every year.
Event Details