Havant Chamber Orchestra: Ben Goldscheider plays the French horn

Read preview notes.

Arrive early to enjoy …6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk

Overture, Scherzo and Finale – Schumann

Horn Concerto No. 1 – Richard Strauss
Soloist: Ben Goldscheider

Symphony No. 9, “Great” – Schubert

S is for…

In classical music you’ll often hear of the “three B’s” – Bach, Beethoven and Brahms – but here we have for you the three S’s!

Schubert’s large-scale Symphony No. 9, known as the “Great”, was considered too long and difficult when first written in 1825. Nowadays it’s a standard in the orchestral repertoire.

Schumann’s “Overture, Scherzo and Finale” is, by contrast, effectively a ‘mini’ symphony in three short movements!

The centrepiece of our concert is the first Horn Concerto by Richard Strauss and we are very excited to play this with an outstanding young musician – Ben Goldscheider. Read more.

Ticket link and further info.
Children under 18 £1.

Event Details