Havant Chamber Orchestra: “German Giants”

Overture “Egmont” – Beethoven

Violin Concerto in D major – Brahms
Soloist: Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux
Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, “Scottish” – Mendelssohn

Download poster.

For a summer’s evening Havant Chamber Orchestra presents major classics by giants of the classical world Beethoven, Brahms and Mendelssohn.

One of the most popular violin concertos is that by Johannes Brahms and we’re delighted to welcome violinist Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux to play this with us. French-born Charlotte has been a student of the Yehudi Menuhin School and the Royal College of Music and is definitely a rising young star!

Beginning the concert will be the dramatic Overture Egmont by Beethoven and to conclude we perform the evocative, joyful and melodious “Scottish” Symphony by Mendelssohn. Both composers were inspired by landscapes and by Scotland and Mendelssohn was particularly good at portraying the romantic European sensitivity for the bleak but enticing atmosphere of the Highlands. A lively fling to end our season of concerts in Fareham!

Tickets £15.

Havant Chamber Orchestra supports the Havant Symphony Orchestra and comprises a mix of professional and gifted amateur players. It puts on 3 concerts each year.
Event Details