Havant Symphony Orchestra: Afternoon Christmas concert

Read Valentina’s preview notes.

Havant Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Jonathan Butcher

Overture “Oberon” – Weber

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor – Rachmaninov
Soloist: Valentina Seferinova (pictured)
Prelude and Mazurka from “Coppelia” – Delibes
Witches’ Ride, Dream Pantomime and Gingerbread Waltz, from “Hansel and Gretel” – Humperdinck
Fantasy on the Coventry Carol – Trad. arr. Brubaker
Christmas Festival – Anderson

… plus Christmas music including carols for the audience to sing along with.

For our ‘close to Christmas’ concert this year we present one of the most famous pieces for piano – Rachmaninov’s second Piano Concerto – played by a local star musician, Valentina Seferinova. Originally from Bulgaria, Valentina lives in Hampshire and has a busy schedule of recitals along with teaching at Southampton University. The concerto was famously featured in the film ‘Brief Encounter’.

We open the concert with a short, fun overture by Weber written for an English opera performed in London in 1826. Then, after the piano concerto and an interval we get into the seasonal mood with some Christmassy favourites and a couple of carols for you to join in with!

Further info/tickets.

Event Details