Havant Symphony Orchestra: Summer Evening Concert

Leader: Martin Palmer
Conductor: Jonathan Butcher
by Havant Symphony Orchestra.

Three Dances from “The Bartered Bride” – Smetana
Conductor: Enyi Okpara

Cello Concerto – Elgar
Soloist: Joseph Spooner (pictured)

Symphony No. 1 in C minor – Brahms

The most famous piece for cello and orchestra has to be the Concerto by Edward Elgar. Written in the aftermath of the first world war, it encapsulates a sense of the tragedy of war. We are delighted to welcome Joseph Spooner as soloist for the concerto.

The concert is completed by two more very famous works – music from the opera ‘The Bartered Bride’ by Smetana and Symphony No. 1 by Brahms. Smetana’s comic opera is about village life and makes extensive use of lively Czech folk music. Brahms was famously reluctant to commit himself to writing a symphony as he felt himself very much in the shadow of Beethoven but the result was definitely worth the wait!

Tickets £20.00; £15.00; £10.00. Students half price / Under 19s £1.00

Visit the concert page.

Havant Symphony Orchestra is made up of a mix of professional and gifted amateur players and puts on 3 concerts each year.
Event Details