Havant Symphony Orchestra: Sunday afternoon spring concert

Overture “Poet and Peasant” – Suppé

Piano Concerto in A minor – Grieg
Soloist: Florian Mitrea

Karelia Suite – Sibelius
Conductor: James Thomas

Symphony No. 2 in B minor – Borodin

Conductor: Jonathan Butcher

Great classics for all

Havant Symphony Orchestra invite you to spend a Sunday afternoon relaxing and soaking up the beauty of some of the finest classical music ever written!

Pianist Florian Mitrea will treat us to the famous Piano Concerto by Grieg (with all the notes in the right order!) and the Nordic theme is continued as the orchestra plays the atmospheric Karelia Suite by Sibelius.

Franz von Suppé was a composer of entertaining light operas and his Overture ‘Poet and Peasant’ comes from one of these tuneful and amusing shows.

The concert concludes with Borodin’s dramatic second Symphony. It took the multi-talented Borodin a few years to write this one as he was busy at the time with his work as a professor of chemistry in St Petersburg!

Ticket link and further info.

View the poster.

Image: Florian Mitrea. Credit: Lewis Inman

Event Details