Havant Symphony Orchestra: traditional pre-season ‘Popular Classics’

Havant Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: James Thomas

Overture “The Hebrides” – Mendelssohn

Piano Concerto No. 2 – Saint-Saëns
Soloist: Thomas Luke (pictured)

Symphony No. 1, “Spring” – Schumann

We love bringing our concerts to Hayling and this year we have a wonderful programme of enjoyable music for you!

Inspired by the crashing waves and dramatic landscape of the Scottish isles, Mendelssohn paints a vivid picture, in his Overture ‘The Hebrides’, of his trip to Fingal’s Cave on the Isle of Staffa.

Also taking nature as a theme, the Symphony No. 1 by Robert Schumann is known as the ‘Spring’ Symphony and is full of life, joy and drama.

The centrepiece of our concert is a piano concerto by the celebrated French composer Camille Saint-Saëns and to play it we are delighted to welcome Thomas Luke who won the keyboard section of BBC Young Musician in 2020 at the age of just 16!

Ticket link and further info.

Event Details