Petworth Festival: Piers Lane plays Chopin (piano)

In the first of two back-to-back concerts focusing on the repertoire of a single piano ‘great’ and given by leading international pianists, Australian pianist Piers Lane performs a sequence of Chopin’s exquisite Nocturnes. Between 1827 and 1846 Chopin wrote 21 Nocturnes, a collection that is generally considered to be among the finest of short solo works for the piano and a set that continues to hold an important place in contemporary concert repertoire.

Piers Lane has a worldwide reputation as an engaging, searching and highly versatile performer at home equally in solo, chamber and concerto repertoire having worked with conductors that include Sir Andrew Davis, Andrew Litton, Vasilly Sinaisky and Yan-Pascal Tortellier. In the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Honours he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for services to the arts. He is an Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music and holds doctorates from Griffith and James Cook Universities in Australia.

Op. 9 Nos. 1 in Bb minor, 2 in Eb, 3 in B
Op. 15 Nos. 1 in F, 2 in F#, 3 in G minor
Op. 27 Nos. 1 in C# minor, 2 in Db
Op. 32 Nos. 1 in B, 2 in Ab
Op. 37 Nos. 1 in G minor, 2 in G
Op. 48 Nos. 1 in C minor, 2 in F# minor
Op. 55 Nos. 1 in F minor, 2 in Eb
Op. 62 Nos. 1 in B, 2 in E
Op. 72 in E minor
C minor Op. post.
C# minor Op. post.

Tickets: £32, £24, £14, £9 (18 and under £5, FREE in adult £9 seats). Visit the Petworth Festival website for further details.

Photo: Piers Lane (credit: Eric Richmond)

Event Details