Portsmouth Chamber Music Series: Consone Quartet – Mendelssohn string quartets

HAYDN – String Quartet in D Op.64, No.5 ‘Lark’ (20’)
FANNY MENDELSSOHN – String Quartet in E flat (22′)
FELIX MENDELSSOHN – String Quartet in E minor Op.44, No.2 (32′)

The electrifying Consone Quartet, recent BBC New Generation Artists, comprises four sensitive and spirited musicians who have formed a dynamic ensemble prized for expressive interpretations of classical and romantic repertoire through historically informed performance.

One of Haydn’s most popular quartets opens this concert, featuring a soaring bird-like part for violin which earned the piece its Lark nickname. The evening also contrasts the music of both Mendelssohn siblings: Fanny’s raw, passionate and tempestuous quartet, the only one she published, and Felix’s stately, lyrical and deftly crafted E minor quartet.

There will be a post-show Q&A with the artists and Colin Jagger of Portsmouth Chamber Music

Presented by Music in the Round.

Series Discount: 20% discount if you book any 6 or more Chamber Music/Sounds of Now concerts.

Further info/tickets from Portsmouth Guildhall.

Event Details