Portsmouth Chamber Music Series: Ensemble 360

Benjamin Nabarro, Claudia Ajmone-Marsan vlns, Rachel Roberts vla, Gemma Rosefield vc, Laurène Durantel db, Robert Plane cl, Amy Harman bsn, Naomi Atherton hn

BERWALD Septet in B-flat
MOZART Clarinet Quintet in A, K. 581
BEETHOVEN Septet in E-flat, Op. 20

Berwald is a rather unfamiliar name, but he is perhaps Sweden’s most famous composer. Born in Stockholm in 1796, his compositions had rather mixed success during his lifetime, and it was only during the 20th century that his music started to receive the acclaim it deserves.

This Septet is a relatively early work from 1828 and uses the same instrumentation as Beethoven’s far more famous work. Mozart’s ever-popular clarinet quintet needs no introduction.

£20 full price, £18 concessions: book all six concerts and get a 20% discount, so £96 for
the whole season (£86.40 concs). Prices include booking fee and restoration levy.

Tickets from Portsmouth Guildhall – There is a £1.75 e-ticket fee which is per booking, not per ticket. You can also go in person to the Guildhall Box Office, open Mon-Fri 9-5, to buy tickets without additional fees. You can also e-mail the box office (boxoffice@portsmouthguildhall.org.uk) to place your order. They will either send you a link to pay, or you can pay by phone at the usual number (023 9387 0200). Again no additional fees.

Event Details