Solent Chamber Orchestra: A Summer Serenade

Rachmaninoff – Scherzo in D minor
Bruch – Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor
Mozart – Symphony 35 “The Haffner”

Soloist: Alexandra Peel – winner of the Portsmouth Music Festival Concerto Prize 2022
Conductor: Steve Tanner
Leader: Kirstie Robertson

The SSO are offering something slightly different this year for their summer concert.

After her stunning performance in March, the Solent Chamber Orchestra are delighted to welcome back soloist Alexandra Peel, to repeat her fabulous interpretation of Bruch’s ever popular 1st Violin Concerto. The concert will open with one of Rachmaninoff’s earliest works – Scherzo in D Minor – a delightful short, witty piece, where you can clearly hear the influence of Mendlessohn’s Midsummer Night’s Dream. This short concert will finish with the famous ‘Haffner Symphony’ in D Major by Mozart.

Please note the start time is 3.30pm and should finish around 4.30pm. There will be no interval, but the bar will be open from 3.00pm so you can enjoy a glass of wine during the concert.

Free entry with a retiring collection towards the musicians’ expenses.

Read about Alexandra Peel.

Event Details